Xunantunich

I could add a fancy title to try to draw more people in to read this entry, but somehow that feels disrespectful to the history of this place.

In deciding to go to Belize, I knew the one thing I definitely wanted to do was explore some Mayan Ruins. Now there are several different sites of ruins to choose from and if I had had the time, I would have visited a few more. But, there was not enough time and I wanted to see one of the biggest sites and climb to the top and be blessed with the views of the country below me and the country Belize borders. So, I chose Xunantunich.

From where we were staying on the peninsula the drive to Xunantunich was a good three hours at the least. Remember, the roads are all two lanes and scattered about with ramps and vicious metal bumps. We also were driving the entire width of the country and almost the length of it as well. We started earlier in the morning than any of our other outings, and this day was the sunniest of days we have had so far. Every other day had been overcast with spots of sunshine, but this day had a beautifully blue sky clearing and temperatures already in the 80’s at 8am. Since we were heading out early, and did not have time for a full breakfast, I took advantage of the amenities and went and ordered a smoothie from the restaurant. I asked for the pineapple paradise and was rewarded with a delicious, perfectly blended, pineapple, banana, and strawberry smoothie with pinapple garnish and plumeria flower to put it over the top. Sergio was also kind enough to add my protein powder to the mix making it the complete breakfast. Seriously…..so good!!

Armed with smoothie in hand, hydration backpack packed, pb and j sandwiches prepared, and all the other things we may possibly need for a whole entire day of driving and exploring, we set out on the great adventure. We took our normal, and only way up and off the peninsula and headed north to the round about, past the entrance to the Mayan King Ranch, and onto new road that we had yet to see. We drove through an abundance of orange groves again and as we got closer to the mountains the vegetation along the road changed. After many miles on the Southern highway and a left onto Hummingbird highway for even more miles, and through the capital city of Belmopan, we took a left in San Ignacio and were on the last stretch on the Western Highway. We passed through small towns, corn fields, and jungle. We avoided the local herd of goats and passed several grazing roadside horses and soon came to the river crossing. To get across to the road leading up to the ruins, you must cross the river on a hand cranked ferry. Only the driver may remain in the car while all other passengers must exit the vehicle. We were directed to drive onto the ferry and asked if we needed a guide at the top. We did not. And after a matter of about two minutes we were across the river and ready to drive up to the ruins. Being the driver at this time, mom had to get out, so all pictures below are actually of us coming back across the river when I let mom drive (which rarely ever happens).

Pulling off of the ferry, we make the short drive up the road and google tells us we have arrived. Well google, you’re wrong because we still have about 200 yards to go. Once we finally do arrive we pull into the parking lot and find an easily accessible spot in the shade! Great! Since it’s already like a thousand degrees out.
In the parking lot are restrooms and a couple of gift shops, one in particular selling cold water (mental note, will need that when done). We pay the entrance fee, gather all of our things together; backpack, lunch bag, extra bag with tennis shoes, bug spray, etc. and begin the accent upward. It’s only about a million degrees now and the walk is uphill with very little shade to begin, so before I am even two steps up the path I am feeling dehydrated. Mom is a trooper slowly but most surely making her way up behind me. At the top of the hill is a set of stairs and at the top of those stairs opens up onto a large square surrounded by stone buildings. To the left of this square is the largest stone building, El Castillo. Xunantunich meanin the Stone Lady, in case anyone was wondering.
Near the structure were some covered picnic tables that we set our stuff up on and leaving mom there to gaze up toward the sky I tied up my laces and started my climb to the top of El Castillo.

The stairs they have put in on the side are quite helpful in gaining access to the top. Climbing up those, you reach the first level, then have to walk around the back to continue the climb up some very narrow steps carved in on the structure and then through an entrance up more steps and then finally to the top. The top does not have anything to protect you from sliding over the edge and with all the wear and tear, without proper shoes or with inclement weather, one should be careful. But I finally make it, 9 flights up according to fitbit for a total of 18 stories by the time I’m done, and look out over the country.

The views are amazing! Out in the distance you can see Guatemala and on the other side almost the whole country of Belize. Once all my fellow climbers began their walk back down I was left take in the views, the quietness, the chirping of the cicadas, all to myself. I could have stayed up there all day, if it wasn’t for the intense sun trying to scald its way through my skin.

I start my climb back down, stopping to take in the view at each level and eventually I make it back to the ground. I meet up with my mom at the picnic table and since she was kind enough to wait for me to eat lunch we dig into those peanut butter and jelly sandwiches.

As we are sitting and chatting and mom is telling me about ease dropping on one of the tour guides and learing some information about a sport the Mayan’s played on the ball courts, she also tells me about a tomb that is located down this nature path. She says she began to walk down there but there were a swarm of bees so she thought better of it. This peaks my interest so I begin to walk over there. I start down the path and see what I think may be the tomb but I have put my sandals back on and do not feel like venturing much further so I begin to head back. As I look up into the trees the reason for the swarm of bees (none of which are out now) becomes quite clear ….but I will let you see for yourself.

This hive must have been at least three times the size of my 50 pound dog.

Heading back to the table to finish lunch, I suddenly hear mom say, “oh look a monkey!” I whip around and sure enough there is a monkey jumping from tree to tree, and then another monkey, and another, and finally a baby. One was even kind enough to stop and hang from a branch and look directly at me as if to encourage my photo shoot. They jumped from limb to limb and climbed higher and higher into the canopy until we could no longer see where they went. Now, some people pay a lot of money here to be able to see these relatives of ours up close and here they were out in the open for us to ponder at. We could not have planned or asked for a better way to end our time at the ruins.

Leave a comment