Back to Belize

Just a few months ago I was here. Here in Belize, down in the southern part of the country on a peninsula called Placencia. I was here at this resort, The Belize Ocean Club, sitting on the balcony with my coffee writing my first blog post about being here in Belize. Well today, I am doing the EXACT same thing! Some of you may know that I entered a contest the resort was hosting. The rules of the contest being to submit a photo that you took during your stay at the resort and collect as many votes and rallied points as you could using social media. Well, thank you to all the people who voted and littered Facebook with my entered photo, because I would not be here if it wasn’t for you. Ultimately the resort picks the winner, but I didn’t think they could ignore that I had about 2,000 more points than the anyone else, because my friends are the greatest, and I wish I could have brought all of you along to enjoy the free nights with me. But in case you didn’t see the photo that helped me get here, I have included it below.

IMG_3613 (2)

So, here I am again……drinking my coffee and looking out over the lagoon ready to tell you all about my return journey to Placencia.snapchat-470936161689485586532762896.jpg

It started Sunday morning. I woke up reluctantly after a long day of catering a music festival, my feet and legs still aching from standing and having to wear shoes. But I am not here to complain, and really how could I? I spent the day with my two best friends, cooking up delicious food, and listening to some great music, and in just about twelve hours I would be flying off to Belize.

After dropping my four-legged child off at her sleep away camp (boarding), I hit the road. First stop, pick up my travel buddy and long time bestie to join me on this trip (this is just one person not two). Once I gathered her and her belongings we were on the road. We found some great airline tickets roundtrip flying out of Sacramento so that was our end point. Now Northern California, where we live is surrounded by wildfires right now, as is most of California, so we had to take the long way around to get to the airport, or actually to the hotel to park the car and then to the airport. We stopped in at one of my favorite grocery stores to grab a bite and a beverage. I know, who knew that you could sit at a bar in a grocery store and get lunch and alcoholic beverages?? But that is exactly what we did and it was fantastic! Disclaimer: It may seem throughout this adventure that we drink a lot, but never are we putting ourselves or anyone else in danger by being unsafe.20180805_1613067630265872936811705.jpg

Back on the road again, a little bit of traffic and a few hours later, we arrived and checked in, because who wouldn’t pay $200 for a nice place to take a nap, watch Beat Bobby Flay, and take a shower before a red-eye flight? Heading off to the airport refreshed and ready for a long night of travel, we made it through security just in time for last call at the bar for a pre-flight cocktail. Our flight was a little late taking off, but with a long layover in Houston we really didn’t care. The first flight was quite uneventful, I slept through two movies while crammed up against the window and before I knew it we were descending into Houston. Once getting to the international terminal we found the United Club (because my credit card rewards me with two “free” club passes every year) and settled into some comfy seats, took advantage of the photo opportunities with our $95 (annual credit card fee) mimosa and bloody mary. Time passes, some breakfast and more alcohol later…….and we are on our final flight to Belize. This flight wasn’t quite as full and with no one in the middle of us, there was plenty of room for Megan (travel buddy) to sprawl out across the two seats. Just a couple of hours later and another movie slept through crammed up against the window, we were on the ground.

We stepped off the plane and were met with hair curling humidity and heavy heat. Moving through customs pretty quickly we stepped out of the airport and crossed the street to find our rental car. The small little office was big enough for almost both of us and are luggage. I signed all the paperwork, listened to the instructions, and although we did not receive any of the free extras I requested, our green dented and scratched up chariot arrived. After a brief tutorial of where all the equipment was to change our own tire, because even with the full coverage insurance, getting road side assistance to change a flat is not included. Guess it’s a good thing my dad taught me once how to change a tire 25 years ago. So off we went in our mid size, is what they called it, SUV with a whole half tank of gas (the ongoing cycle of irritated drivers that have to spend a fortune on gas their first day needs to be addressed) for our 3 hour journey to the resort. Since driving in Belize lacks any really excitement I will spare you the details of long and bumpy roads.

Stopping in Belmopan at a road side cafe for snacks and drinks we found the food, service, and atmosphere at Scotchies to be a great starting off point for our vacation. Another two hours of driving and we finally pulled up to the resort. Now I know that all I did to be back here was take a picture and encourage my friends to vote on it, but I have to say I was slightly disappointed that there were not balloons or a banner or a champagne greeting upon arrival. Instead we were efficiently and kindly checked in and shown to our room. A cozy first floor two bedroom suite with view of the lagoon. Shortly after we found ourselves being served at the door with welcome drinks and the realization that vacation had officially begun!!

Leave a comment